SAPS Cluster awards hit the South

WINNERS: Flash from Sophiatown was announced as VISPOL group of the year.

WHO would emerge tops in this year’s South African Police Service Johannesburg Central Cluster Excellence Awards?

That was the question every cluster wanted to know as the sun set to a dazzling stellar night with Johannesburg’s tops cops opting to wear tuxes and dresses instead of their usual regalia at the awards on September 22 at the Edcon’s Retail Academy in Ormonde.

This year’s Johannesburg cluster excellence awards, sponsored by Edcon saw many officers celebrated for their efforts in serving their communities.

The SAPS Johannesburg Central Cluster consists of eight police stations in Johannesburg, namely: Johannesburg Central, Booysens, Mondeor, Moffatview, Langlaagte, Brixton, Sophiatown and Fairland.

Elelwane Pahlana, general manager of Transformation at Edcon, said Edcon was proud of its association with the SAPS Johannesburg Central Cluster and hoped that the awards would continue to serve as a source of pride to those who were shortlisted alongside winners. “It is our way of acknowledging the hard work, dedication and sacrifice that members of the police force make daily under very difficult conditions.”

BEST WOMAN OF THE YEAR: The award went to SPO PM Lefifi (Jhb Central).

The winners in the various categories of the SAPS Johannesburg Cluster Excellence Awards were:

Admin employee of the year (Level 1-7)

First – SAC D Raophala (Jhb Central)

Second – A C V Mhlari (Mondeor)

Third – A C D.S. Naidoo (Langlaagte)

Employee of the year (Level 8-12)

First – Lt Col TJ Lempe (Jhb Central)

Second – Lt Col MM Manzini (Jhb Central)

Detective employee of the year (Level 1-7)

First – Const TE Mokgosi (Jhb Central)

Detective employee of the year (Level 8-12)

1st – Const ZE Nyawose (Sophiatown)

Detective group of the year

Robberies General Investigation (Jhb Central)

Reservists of the year

1st – R/Const SIB Dlamini (Jhb Central)

2nd – R/Const SE Mthombeni (Jhb Central)

3rd – R/Const M Ngobeni (Jhb Central)

VISPOL group of the year – Flash (Sophiatown)

Disabled person of the year – S/Tel Operator JM Roets (Jhb Central)

Women of the year – SPO PM Lefifi (Jhb Central)

Cluster commander’s Award – Best station of the year for 2017 financial year: Brixton SAPS

Detective employee of the year, Level 8-12: Lt Col ZE Nyawose ( Sophiatown)

Best station of the year: Brixton

Women of the year: SPO PM Lefifi( JHB Central)

The MC for the night, Azania Mosaka, thanked all officers for their relentless selfless service and congratulated winners before she bid the duty officers goodnight.

BEST STATION OF THE YEAR: Brixton’s station commander went up to receive the award.

For free daily local news in the south, visit our sister newspapers Alberton RecordComaro ChronicleSouthern Courier and Get it Joburg South Magazine.

Remember to visit our FacebookTwitter and Instagram pages. You can also email our offices on [email protected][email protected] or [email protected]

Add us on WhatsApp today! Comaro Chronicle: 079 427 8074 and Southern Courier: 079 404 5789.

Gopolang Chawane

Latest News


Next Story x
Alta’s strength behind her story